My Home Inspector Blog: The Importance Of A Home Inspection Before You Buy

The Importance Of A Home Inspection Before You Buy

 Congratulations! You searched and searched and finally found your dream home! Do you realize the importance of a home inspection before you buy? This may be one of your largest purchases ever. Would you buy a car without giving it a test drive? Of course not! Doesn't it make sense to have a set of experienced eyes examine your new home before you invest your hard-earned dollars? Of course!

dream home


Broken roof truss


You may think your handy uncle can look over your new home to see if everything is OK. Don't risk it! A home inspector has the uncanny ability to discover defects not seen by an untrained eye. I'll let you in on a dirty little secret. There are no perfect homes! Every home has defects of one kind or another, even new construction! A home inspector will thoroughly evaluate the systems and structure of your new home and then provide a comprehensive report with photos.



overheated wires


How much is a home inspection? Inspection costs are typically less than 1/4 of 1% of the home's purchase price! Fees can range from a few hundred dollars to more than a thousand, depending on the size, age, and complexity of the property. If you opt not to purchase a home inspection, just one surprise may cost you more than the money you saved on the inspection fee! Doesn't it make sense to hire a professional home inspector? A home inspection usually pays for itself in the form of repairs by the seller or consideration for repairs at closing.



Here's a partial list of common defects found at a home inspection:

foundation crack

 

  • Moisture intrusion
  • Lack of maintenance
  • Roof issues
  • Plumbing leaks
  • Foundation defects
  • Substandard repairs and installations
  • Electrical problems
  • Systems nearing the end of their useful life
  • Defective or hazardous components
  • Carbon monoxide hazards
  • Structural damage
  • Hazardous materials



broken roof tile


A qualified, experienced home inspector will investigate every accessible area of your home and discover clues to its past history. This includes crawling under the home if it has a raised foundation, walking the roof, and entering the attic area. These areas are not easily accessible and are often neglected or go unnoticed by homeowners. They may contain critical defects that will affect the structure of the home or allow water entry that could cause major damage.



CREIA verify logo

ICC logo


Protect your most precious investment! Steve Stenros- First Choice Inspections is a CREIA MCI (Master CREIA Inspector) and ICC (International Code Council) certified inspector. Clients receive a FREE lifetime appliance RecallChek with every standard home inspection. Steve can be reached for appointment at 888-335-3040.

The Importance Of A Home Inspection Before You Buy

Originally posted at First Choice Inspections

 


             Steve Stenros, MCI         Biz card photo

             Master CREIA Inspector #0115

             ICC Residential Combination Inspector #5251439

             Certified Infrared Thermographer #7791

                                       FHA/HUD Inspector- #V975

                                       203k Consultant #S0611

                                     888-335-3040

 

My Recent Home Inspector Blogs:


If You Have These Smoke Alarms, Get Rid Of Them!

The Three Most Common Write-Ups At A Home Inspection

May I Get You Some Carbon Monoxide?

La Jolla Home Inspector Offers Tips On Buying A Foreclosure

Home Inspection Tech Tips: How To Clean Your Rain Gutters

Vacant Homes: Turning Utilities On- San Diego Home Inspector

Sharp-Tipped Screws Are A Hazard To A Home Inspector!

San Diego Home Inspector Goes North

Have You Checked Your Egress Windows?- Encinitas Home Inspector

The New Carbon Monoxide Detector Law In California

"Four Tips For Garage Door Safety"- Encinitas Home Inspector

My Home Inspector Said Aluminum Wiring Will Catch My House On Fire!

Does Your Weep Screed Weep?- Temecula Home Inspector

Deck Repair Gone Awry!- Del Mar Home Inspection

A Home Inspector's ActiveRain Success Story

Comment balloon 32 commentsSteve Stenros • September 19 2011 07:21PM

Comments

Hi Steve. Good blog post. I think you have some very good information in here. Well done.

Posted by Rob Magnotta, Huntington Beach & Newport Beach Coastal Specialist (Huntington Beach, Newport Beach, Seal Beach, Irvine REALTOR) about 7 years ago

Thanks Rob. I'm glad you stopped by for a visit! Appreciate the comment!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Hi Steve, It goes without saying, because you already said so well, it is critical to have a home inspection. So many things can be found that could or will lead to problems now or down the road. Anyone not having a diligent home inspection is just looking for more problems down the road than they might have had if they would just inspect, inspect and inspect everything.

Posted by William Johnson, San Diego Real Estate Voice, GRI CRS e-Pro CDPE (RE/MAX Associates) about 7 years ago

Hi William! Thanks for your comment. Did you say inspect?

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

People won't buy a car with out having it checked out but will purchase a home with out one. It's Crazy! I have made the two people that declined inspection over the last 6 years sign a addendum stating they where advised an inspection but declined.

Posted by Steve Queen, Chosen Realtor for Bowie And Laurel (Bennett Realty Solutions) about 7 years ago

That's a wise thing to do, Steve! Occasionally my clients will tell me about mistakes they made with their previous purchase. Not having an inspection done tops the list! They really end up paying for it. Thanks for stopping by!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

My home inspection of a NEW CONSTRUCTION HOME found they forgot insulation this month.

Can't wait to see the first light bill since it has been running for a year while the builder could not sell it with the A/c running and no insulation, but now it should be greatly better on the electric usage.

Posted by Florida Tolbert Team Keller Williams Advantage, Keller Williams Land Division Specialist (Keller Williams Advantage III Realty in Lake Nona) about 7 years ago

Hi Steve -

I have a handful of fantastic home inspectors I give their info to my buyers and let them pick who they want to use. Even with a cash deal I highly recommend a home inspection.  I don't want anything coming back to bite me or my buyers down the road.  Key here is a good inspector.

Best regards from the Q

Posted by John McCormack, CRS, Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me! (Albuquerque Homes Realty) about 7 years ago

Kevin: They forgot the insulation in the walls or attic, or both?

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

John: A competent inspector is your frontline defense against liability!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Good Morning Steve, a great home inspection is priceless.  Buyers need the opinion of condition to make an educated decision on proceeding with the purchase.  An excellent post!

Posted by Dan Edward Phillips, Realtor and Broker/Owner (Dan Edward Phillips) about 7 years ago

Around here most people price shop instead of inspector shop. Like you say the price of an inspection is minimal compare to the purchase price of the home.

Posted by James Quarello, Connecticut Home Inspector (JRV Home Inspection Services, LLC) about 7 years ago

That's a key point you hit on, Dan. An educated, informed client is a happy one!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

James, I suppose that occurs everywhere. I set up my business from the start to cater to those clients who are willing to pay for quality. They understand that they will get what they pay for! In my opinion, those who shop around for the low-price leader are wasting their money! They become aware of that after moving into their new home!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Steve - really? There isn't a perfect house? Hmmm that is so shocking.

Seriously, this is a great post! I'm suggesting it.

Posted by Toni Weidman, 26 Years Selling Homes in New Port Richey, FL (Sailwinds Realty) about 7 years ago

Toni: Mine is perfect! Thanks for the "suggest"!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Good Evening Steve:

This post is deserving of a Feature.  I always tell my buyers to get an inspection.  It's as simple as this, "Trust but Verify."  I believe everything the seller has disclosed, but for my own sanity, I need to see if he has overlooked anything

Posted by C. Lloyd McKenzie, Living Albuquerque about 7 years ago

Lloyd: I like it! "Trust but Verify"! And many times the seller may not disclose because they do not know!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Skipping an inspection to save money is stupid. An inspection can reveal something that will cost so much more in the long run. And how can you place a value of piece of mind.

The only time I ever skipped an inspection - I was young and dumb and it was my own house - it cost $20,000. Termites! The beach house had been remodeled and I assumed the couple (sellers) would never had put that kind of money into a house if it had a termite issue - boy was I wrong. Too bad my agent didn't warn me and insist on having an inspection. Lesson learned.

Posted by Debb Janes EcoBroker and Bernie Stea JD, REALTORS® in Clark County, WA (ViewHomes of Clark County - Nature As Neighbors) about 7 years ago

Debb: Ouch! That hurts! Good story!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Steve, really great post here! Lots of options to weigh but I would have to have you do an official Inspection for me! You would be my choice.

Posted by Deb Brooks (Brooks Prime Properties Wichita Falls Texas) about 7 years ago

Thank you, Deb! And thanks for becoming an Associate!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Steve - I agree that a home inspection is an important part of buying a home.  You need to know what you're getting.

Posted by Christine Donovan, Broker/Attorney 714-319-9751 DRE01267479 - Costa M (Donovan Blatt Realty) about 7 years ago

Christine: It makes life easier for all parties involved when all the cards are on the table!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

HI Steve,

Wise post! I forwarded a link of your blog to a client who I think will appreciate what you have to say, as much as I do! I suggested it!

Posted by Patricia Feager, MBA, CRS, GRI, Selling Homes Changing Lives (DFW FINE PROPERTIES) about 7 years ago

Thank you, Patricia! Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Steve, I just can't sell anyone without a home inspection contingency. It just doesn't seem right!

Posted by Connie Harvey, Realtor - Nashville TN Real Estate (Pilkerton Realtors) about 7 years ago

Steve:  That's really quite frightening, and a great picture to display the importance of a thorough home inspection.

Posted by Sidney Kutchuk - Realty Works Temecula Kutchuk - Realty Works Temecula, Realty Works Temecula (Realty Works Temecula) about 7 years ago

That's because you are a true professional, Connie!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Once in a while, we see some pretty frightening things, Jane!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Steve;

I have a buyer last year reject four homes that they were looking at because of the physical inspections(yes we were in open escrows). The wife in particular was very difficult to please and they ended up buying from a new home community in San Marcos.

The funny thing is this builder did not care if they did a physical inspection, on the home at completion, but would not address any of the issues that came up. Where the home owners all wanted to do the needed repairs. Go figure.

Posted by Lorraine or Loretta Kratz, Certified Negotiation Consultants (Crescent Moon Realty, Inc. & Land N Sea Auctions.) about 7 years ago

L&L: What a shame! The builder is typically "on the hook" for 10 years. How'd they get away with that?

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Participate