My Home Inspector Blog: Home Inspection Tips- How To Protect The Siding And Foundation Of Your San Diego Home

Home Inspection Tips- How To Protect The Siding And Foundation Of Your San Diego Home

 

siding and foundation San Diego homeThese home inspection tips show how to protect the siding and foundation of your San Diego home. Whether your home is built on a slab or a raised foundation, it comes in contact with the soil at some point. The foundation is obviously in contact with the ground, but all siding materials should have adequate clearance from the ground to prevent moisture penetration, insect access, and siding damage.




siding and foundation San Diego home
Stucco siding should have a minimum 4" clearance above soil and 2" above hardscaping.
Wood siding should have a minimum 6" clearance above soil and 2" above a hardscape surface.The main reason for these requirements is for protection against moisture. weep screed diagram





One mistake I often see during a home inspection is a patio slab that has been poured too high against a house wall. If the stucco weep screed is buried, water may become trapped resulting in moisture damage inside the wall cavities. Even if the ground isn't in contact with the siding, if adequate clearance does not exist, rain will splash up and soak the siding resulting in moisture penetration.




siding and foundation San Diego home

The soil at the perimeter of your home should slope away from the foundation. The surface grade should drop a minimum of 6" within the first ten feet. The perimeter grading at many of my home inspections has negative slope because of settling along the foundation or improper grading during construction. This condition will allow excessive moisture to penetrate the foundation and shorten its life-span.



Home Inspection Tips- How To Protect The Siding And Foundation Of Your San Diego Home:

siding and foundation San Diego home

1. Maintain a good grade slope away from the foundation.

2. Be sure the siding has proper clearance from soil and hardscape areas.

3. Prune all vegetation growing against the exterior of your home.

4. Have rain gutters installed if they are not. Use splash blocks or extensions at the downspouts to carry water away from the foundation.


 

siding and foundation San Diego home


5. Keep a good coat of paint on wood siding for moisture protection.

6. Tune up your irrigation system so the sprinklers do not spray the house.

7. In some cases where the perimeter drainage is poor, you may have to install a drainage system or improve the one you have.




CREIA verify logoA small amount of effort will pay large dividends in protecting your most valuable asset. Don't let a simple problem cause serious damage to your home! Steve Stenros- First Choice Inspections is a CREIA MCI and ICC certified San Diego home inspector. Clients receive a FREE lifetime appliance RecallChek with every standard home inspection. Steve can be reached for appointment
ICC logoat 888-335-3040. These home inspection tips- how to protect the siding and foundation of your San Diego home can be used as a guide as you inspect the perimeter of your home.

Originally posted at FirstChoiceInspections.

 


             Steve Stenros, MCI         Biz card photo

             Master CREIA Inspector #0115

             ICC Residential Combination Inspector #5251439

             Certified Infrared Thermographer #7791

                                       FHA/HUD Inspector- #V975

                                       203k Consultant #S0611

                                     888-335-3040

 

My Recent Home Inspector Blogs:


If You Have These Smoke Alarms, Get Rid Of Them!

The Three Most Common Write-Ups At A Home Inspection

May I Get You Some Carbon Monoxide?

La Jolla Home Inspector Offers Tips On Buying A Foreclosure

Home Inspection Tech Tips: How To Clean Your Rain Gutters

Vacant Homes: Turning Utilities On- San Diego Home Inspector

Sharp-Tipped Screws Are A Hazard To A Home Inspector!

San Diego Home Inspector Goes North

Have You Checked Your Egress Windows?- Encinitas Home Inspector

The New Carbon Monoxide Detector Law In California

"Four Tips For Garage Door Safety"- Encinitas Home Inspector

My Home Inspector Said Aluminum Wiring Will Catch My House On Fire!

Does Your Weep Screed Weep?- Temecula Home Inspector

Deck Repair Gone Awry!- Del Mar Home Inspection

A Home Inspector's ActiveRain Success Story

Comment balloon 66 commentsSteve Stenros • August 12 2011 03:06AM

Comments

Hi Steve, great tips on taking care of your foundation, suggested, bookmarked, will reblog soon. and new subscriber.

Posted by Hrisco & Associates, -"When Experience Matters - The Agent You Need!" (Hrisco & Associates | Expert Advisor Home Services | eXp Realty, LLC) over 6 years ago

All these good tips, including pictures and videos.

Have you thought of publishing a book or holding seminars for realtors and their clients?

Posted by Pacita Dimacali, Alameda/Contra Costa Counties CA (Alain Pinel) over 6 years ago

Good Morning Steve, an excellent post for both agents and for home owners.  These are very important suggestions to avoid both water damage and pest infestation.

Posted by Dan Edward Phillips, Realtor and Broker/Owner (Dan Edward Phillips) over 6 years ago

John: Thanks. So glad to hear that! I hope you enjoy the blogs and find them useful!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Wow! Thanks Pacita! I'll figure out what to do with them all some day!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Good morning Dan. Moisture has been the #1 villian on every home inspector's black list for quite some time, and of course you know the battle we face with wood-destroying organisms here in the great state of CA!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Great post and it will get hit for the Reblog today.  Thanks for the information.

Posted by Gene Riemenschneider, Turning Houses into Homes (Home Point Real Estate) over 6 years ago

Steve, your inspection minutes are so informative and well done!  Thanks for all the great info you bring to us and your support of VBloggers
Pamela

Posted by Lee & Pamela St. Peter, Making Connections to Success in Real Estate (Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices YSU Realty: (919) 645-2522) over 6 years ago

Lee & Pamela: Thanks! I'm glad you've enjoyed the videos and find them informative!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Wow! Interesting post with great pictures, tips and a video. This is my first time seeing one of your inspection minutes and I would definitely watch one-a-day. Thanks for sharing your insight.

Dana

Posted by Dana Hollish Hill, Associate Broker (Hollish Hill Group, Keller William Capital Properties) over 6 years ago

We've been doing French drains in San Diego for 25 years and have seen this situation surface almost everyday. Especially with manufactured homes. Good info.

Posted by John DL Arendsen, Crest Backyard Homes designer & builder of ADU's (CREST BACKYARD HOMES, ON THE LEVEL GENERAL & FACTORY BUILT HOME CONTRACTOR, TAG REAL ESTATE SALES & INVESTMENTS) over 6 years ago

I'm glad you found my post, Dana! I appreciate your comment!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Very good suggestions and explained in a way the average reader can understand. One other moisture potential area I frequently encounter is the separation of siding to roof line.  More often than not the comp board siding will be resting on the asphalt shingle.  Also, thanks for including all the other links.  I'm going to take some time to review.  I also write for U.S. Inspect and may use some of your ideas.  Do you mind?  I will give you credit.  Thanks for taking time to share your ideas.

Posted by William (Bill) Zoller (U.S. Inspect, LLC) over 6 years ago

Hi John. Some manufactured homes are ridiculous. They have rivers flowing under them!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

While painting our rental house last week, we noticed on one side the siding almost touches the soil.  We planned to pull the soil away, your article is timely for us!  If we put rock around the house, does that count as hardscape that only requires 2 inches?

Posted by Joetta Fort, Independent Broker, Homes Denver to Boulder (The DiGiorgio Group) over 6 years ago

Steve,

I see this exact thing so often that I almost should default the comment into my reports. Then you couple that with minimum or no proper grading then you can start to really have issues. Even in dryer climates such is where I am.

Posted by Donald Hester, NCW Home Inspections, LLC (NCW Home Inspections, LLC) over 6 years ago

Awesome post, Steve!  It's the small things that can do big damage.

Posted by Melanie Thompson, Registered Mortgage Advisor (Mortgage Equity Team) over 6 years ago

Steve -- thank you for sharing this great info, regardless of location or continent. Best.

Posted by Peter Michelbach over 6 years ago

Hi Steve, Congratulations on the feature! Great information from you, as always. I'll keep this one in the file with your other great household articles and tips.

Posted by Suzi Sandore, North County San Diego Homes (RealtyONEGroup) over 6 years ago

Nice Post.

Great Topic for a post. Moisture penetration prevention tips and building code information here.

 

Have a great second half!

Posted by Bruce Fecteau (Century21 Beachside MV) over 6 years ago

I am in the Portland, OR area.  Water intrusion is a huge problem here with all of our rain.

I have seen a lot of homes in Southern Cal with no gutters, and flaking or missing exterior paint.  Those would create huge problems in 1 winter in this area.

We don't have termite problems like other parts of the country, but have carpenter ants and dry rot issues!

 

Posted by Roger Newton (Roger Newton Real Estate) over 6 years ago

Good information.  Here is Nashville TN, rainy seasons and warm humid periods lead to mold and termite issues.

Posted by Jim McCormack, Nashville Short Sale REALTOR - Stop Foreclosure (Nashville Short Sale Specialist - Jim McCormack - Edge Advantage Realty, LLC - 615-784-EDGE (3343)) over 6 years ago

Good job, in our part of the world we don't see as much water or ground water as other parts of the country.  But we love putting the landscape right up to the home, this will also affect wood or laminate flooring as the concrete soaks up the moisture from the landscape. Ever see cupped flooring? Just look outside of that room.

Posted by Michael Blue, REALTOR - 760-889-8877, Encinitas/Carlsbad (Home Smart Realty West) over 6 years ago

Well presented Steve. Some of the things you describe are important for new homes too. Those first two items you point out could be present on new homes too. Buyers need to remember that builders aren't perfect - it's wise to check.

Posted by Karen Crowson, Your Agent for Change (Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage) over 6 years ago

Great post and information.  I'm sure you've seen it all so putting this information out to the public is good policy!  Best of luck!

Posted by Jan Green, HomeSmart Elite Group, REALTOR®, EcoBroker, GREEN (Value Added Service, 602-620-2699) over 6 years ago

Thanks for the post, and congratulations on the feature.

 

Posted by Marshall Brown, BSEE, CHI (Mid America Inspection Services, LLC) over 6 years ago

William: Feel free to use them. I'd be honored!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Joetta: If you mean gravel- No. Stone with mortar joints- Yes. Examples of a hardscape surface would be concrete, asphalt, or pavers.

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Yes, Donald, Wenatchee is pretty dry isn't it? Southern California is too, but when the rainy season hits we can get it by the bucketfulls!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Thanks for your comments, Melanie and Peter! Appreciate it!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Suzi: It's good to see you! Thanks for your comment!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Thanks Bruce! It's hard to believe we are in the second half already!

Roger: You're not kidding. You guys really get some rain in Portland! I still think the developers here should be required to install rain gutters!

Jim: I'll bet the termites love that humid Nashville weather!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

That's true, Michael! Even here in San Diego, the water finds a way to get in!

I agree Karen. Numbers 3-7 usually happen after the homeowner moves in and messes things up!

Thanks a lot for your comments Jan and Marshall!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Steve this is a great post - - love the format - love the use of pictures - excellent tips and I love that you make the share...buttons so readily available.  Congrats on the feature...well deserved position.  Thanks so much for sharing this information.

Posted by Ruby Lee Sweeting, Your Bahamas Agent for Relocations & Second Homes (Darville Wong Associates Realty Bahamas) over 6 years ago

I'm glad you found it useful, Ruby. Thank you! ActiveRain must have done an upgrade and installed the share buttons. Nice!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Steve - yes I see - yours was my first AR read for the day...saw that it was everywhere after... That is nice.

 

Posted by Ruby Lee Sweeting, Your Bahamas Agent for Relocations & Second Homes (Darville Wong Associates Realty Bahamas) over 6 years ago

Good info. most of the time we are looking for damage instead of preventing it.

Posted by Michael Singh,Broker (Singh Real Estate) over 6 years ago

Ha! My exact words on an expert witness case I've recently been retained on "A River Runs Through It".

Posted by John DL Arendsen, Crest Backyard Homes designer & builder of ADU's (CREST BACKYARD HOMES, ON THE LEVEL GENERAL & FACTORY BUILT HOME CONTRACTOR, TAG REAL ESTATE SALES & INVESTMENTS) over 6 years ago

Michael: There's something to be said for those meticulously-kept homes I sometimes see!

John: I'm sure you see some nightmares!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Steve, congrats on the featured post!  This is a very good post, especially for folks right before the colder season hits and they don't look at their house until March!

I can't tell you how many times we've seen siding right to a deck floor, or too close to the ground.  In fact, they typically put the deck OVER the siding in this area.  I'm not sure why, as then I can never replace the siding without removing the deck!  And the splash damage you speak of is always present in that situation.

 

Posted by Jeremy Wrenn, President, Wrenn Home Improvements (Wrenn Home Improvements) over 6 years ago

Hi Jeremy. Yes, that is quite commonly seen. I'm going to do a post on deck installations soon. Lot's of things to talk about there!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Oh good!  Talk about how the siding shouldn't go BEHIND THE DECK!  Sorry, wasn't yelling at you, just the guys that build them that way.  :)

Posted by Jeremy Wrenn, President, Wrenn Home Improvements (Wrenn Home Improvements) over 6 years ago

Steve - The inspectors I know are always concerned about soil and moisture with good reason. You've given lots of good tips.

Posted by Christine Donovan, Broker/Attorney 714-319-9751 DRE01267479 - Costa M (Donovan Blatt Realty) over 6 years ago

Nice reminder about the proper state of a foundation, something many sellers may not realize. I didn't until an inspector brought it to my attention while selling a previous home.

Gretchen

Posted by Mel Ahrens, MBA, Kelly Right Real Estate, Customized Choices for your Real Estate Needs (Kelly Right Real Estate) over 6 years ago

Christine, if a home inspector fails to report on areas of moisture intrusion, he may find himself in a large mahogany room full of men dressed in suits (and one in a robe)!

 

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Gretchen: Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

great tips on taking care of your foundation

Posted by Nick Smith, Boise Idaho Real Estate, We Love Boise (Silvercreek Realty Group) over 6 years ago

Keep it dry, Nick!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

I can't believe that many developers in California actually developed hundreds if not thousands of "subterrainean" (pit set as they call it in the industry) MH communities without any drainage whatsoever. Duh! Here ther "River doesn't Run Throuh It". The homeowners end up with rancid swimming pools under their homes and we end up generating an entirly new profit center which in the past 25 years has by itself put my 5 kids through college. Sad but true.

Posted by John DL Arendsen, Crest Backyard Homes designer & builder of ADU's (CREST BACKYARD HOMES, ON THE LEVEL GENERAL & FACTORY BUILT HOME CONTRACTOR, TAG REAL ESTATE SALES & INVESTMENTS) over 6 years ago

Thanks for the info. Its well written and easy to understand. We don't use stucco much up here in New England, bur the basic principles are the same.

Posted by Linda Fidgeon, Make your next move your best move! (Berkshire Hathaway Homeservices Page Realty) over 6 years ago

You have a great niche market there, John!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Thank you, Linda. Yes, the principles are the same everywhere. Even more important in wetter regions!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Great information and I like the stucco diagram!

Posted by Patricia Beck, Colorado Springs Realty (RE/MAX Properties, Inc., GRI, CDPE) over 6 years ago

Thank you, Patricia. Aren't diagrams great?

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

These are great tips for the San Diego homeowner to follow to protect their foundations and siding, Steve.  

Posted by Jane Peters, Connecting you to the L.A. real estate market (Home Jane Realty) over 6 years ago

Jane: And they also work well for the Los Angeles homeowner! :)

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Steve, great advice anywhere. I really like your short videos. You do a good job taking care of business. :)  I see you earned a well deserved star. Congrats.

Posted by Debb Janes EcoBroker and Bernie Stea JD, REALTORS® in Clark County, WA (ViewHomes of Clark County - Nature As Neighbors) over 6 years ago

Debb: Appreciate that!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Steve:

Informative and the many comments you received agree. I also think that you should make presentations at the local real estate boards. Do it during a "brown bag event".  I believe agents would event paid.

Posted by Lorraine or Loretta Kratz, Certified Negotiation Consultants (Crescent Moon Realty, Inc. & Land N Sea Auctions.) over 6 years ago

Thanks so much for your comments, L & L!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Steve that last picture of the decorative horizontal trim board is a classic.  Without a proper counter-flashing it is only a matter of time.  Thanks for subscribing by the way.

Posted by Charles Buell, Seattle Home Inspector (Charles Buell Inspections Inc.) over 6 years ago

Keep the blogs coming, Charles!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

These tips are helpful in any location!  Thanks!

Posted by Dale Taylor, Realtor = Chicago Illinois Homes Townhomes Condos (Re/Max 10 New Lenox Illinois) over 6 years ago

Dale: Yes, they are! Thanks for your comment!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Steve

i really like reading your blogs. It's like a picture book about home inspection. Also learning a few new words. I haven't heard of weep screed before.

Keep up the good work!

Posted by Pacita Dimacali, Alameda/Contra Costa Counties CA (Alain Pinel) over 6 years ago

I'm glad you like them, Pacita! I've had a busy summer season, so it's been a while since my last post, but I promise, there are more on the way!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Participate