My Home Inspector Blog: My List Of Top 10 Home Inspection Defects

My List Of Top 10 Home Inspection Defects

My List Of Top 10 Home Inspection Defects


If you're buying a new home, it is important you know the most common problems found at home inspections. Here is my list of top 10 home inspection defects:


1. Improper Surface Grading/Drainage

This is the most frequent issue I find. If the drainage around a home is not adequate, moisture intrusion problems and even structural settlement can occur. The soil grade at the perimeter of a home should drop at least six inches in the first ten feet.


 

2. Improper Electrical Wiring

Electrical issues almost always find a place in my home inspection reports. Amateur wiring, shock hazards, inadequate electrical service to older homes, fire hazards due to faulty wiring connections, lack of GFCI outlets where needed, and other electrical defects are all too common.


3. Roof Issues

Evidence of previous leaks, damaged roof materials, and improper installations are frequently found. A home inspector needs to get on a roof to see these problem areas. Many roofing defects will be missed if a home inspector only views the roof from the ground or from a ladder at the eaves.

 

 

4. Plumbing Issues

Plumbing problems rank high on my list of top 10 inspection defects. Leaks at fixtures and waste lines, deteriorated drain piping in older homes, amateur installations, slab leaks, and problematic water piping such as polybutylene or galvanized steel are often found.


 

5. Venting Systems

The flue assemblies for gas-burning appliances often have inadequate clearance from combustibles, improper terminations, or they are sagging or disconnected due to amateur installation. These conditions present a fire and carbon monoxide hazard.

 

 

6. Heating/Cooling System Issues

Substandard installations and repairs, poorly maintained, or inoperative heating and cooling systems are seen quite frequently. Less than optimal performance is often found when these systems are tested.

7. Breaches in Fire-Resistance-Rated Walls or Assemblies

Unapproved or improperly operating garage fire doors, missing fireblocking and draftstops, and unrepaired openings in fire-resistance-rated walls or assemblies are found at many home inspections. These breaches are fire safety hazards to the occupants.


8. Poor Overall Maintenance

Sadly, most people take better care of their cars than they do their homes. Neglected painting of exterior wood components results in dry rot and termite damage. Crumbling masonry, trip hazards, amateur wiring or plumbing, and broken fixtures or appliances are quite common.


9. Structural Related Issues

Many houses, as a result of problems in one or more of the other categories, sustain damage to structural components such as foundation walls, floor joists, roof trusses and rafters, or wall assemblies.

 

10. Environmental Issues

This category includes the presence of asbestos, mold, lead-based paint, or other hazardous material discovered during a home inspection. Lab testing of suspected material is necessary to confirm their presence.


 

So, when you're buying a home, remember to bring along my list of top 10 home inspection defects. Steve Stenros is the owner of First Choice Inspections and is a CREIA MCI inspector. Clients receive a FREE lifetime appliance RecallChek with every standard home inspection. Appointments can be obtained by calling 888-335-3040.

 


             Steve Stenros, MCI         Biz card photo

             Master CREIA Inspector #0115

             ICC Residential Combination Inspector #5251439

             Certified Infrared Thermographer #7791

                                       FHA/HUD Inspector- #V975

                                       203k Consultant #S0611

                                     888-335-3040

 

My Recent Home Inspector Blogs:


If You Have These Smoke Alarms, Get Rid Of Them!

The Three Most Common Write-Ups At A Home Inspection

May I Get You Some Carbon Monoxide?

La Jolla Home Inspector Offers Tips On Buying A Foreclosure

Home Inspection Tech Tips: How To Clean Your Rain Gutters

Vacant Homes: Turning Utilities On- San Diego Home Inspector

Sharp-Tipped Screws Are A Hazard To A Home Inspector!

San Diego Home Inspector Goes North

Have You Checked Your Egress Windows?- Encinitas Home Inspector

The New Carbon Monoxide Detector Law In California

"Four Tips For Garage Door Safety"- Encinitas Home Inspector

My Home Inspector Said Aluminum Wiring Will Catch My House On Fire!

Does Your Weep Screed Weep?- Temecula Home Inspector

Deck Repair Gone Awry!- Del Mar Home Inspection

A Home Inspector's ActiveRain Success Story

Comment balloon 74 commentsSteve Stenros • May 21 2011 04:56PM

Comments

The first two or three sound a lot like many of the Home Inspections my clients have had. It seems there are almost always some electrical issues.

Posted by David Burrows, No Pressure, Just Seriously Devoted to Real Estate (Classic Realty) about 7 years ago

Electrical issues always seem to pop up, David. There are lots of fire and shock hazards out there!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Inspections almost always turn up builder shortcuts.  Regular flashing where kick-out flashing should be, improperly terminated ground wires, lack of a p-trap under a sink, etc.  That on top of  it seems that low quality exterior paint and can define most builders.

Posted by Sam Chapman about 7 years ago

That's right, Sam. New construction homes have been some of the worst I've seen. (I'm reminded of the fireplace flue that terminated in the attic!)

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Thanks Steve. How could new homes be so bad ?  In Toronto the City inspects every home about 7-8 times before it is complete and with the Ontario New Home Warranty Program in place - a competent builder/ renovator -- how can you miss ?

cheers

Nor

Posted by Nor Yeretsian, Envoy Capitol Realty Inc., Brokerage Toronto (Envoy Capitol Realty Inc.) about 7 years ago

Most City Inspectors have such a huge work load, they cannot possibly do everything they are called on to do. Unfortunately a lot of things just get signed off. One of the things I hear most often after a home inspection is, "How did that pass the city inspection?".

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Great list Steve. Grading is a big one here in Chicago...most homes have a basement and seepage occurs most because of bad grading.

Posted by Goran Utvic, We Buy & Sell Chicago Houses Fast (606 Homes LLC | Chicagoland Brokers Inc, Chicago IL 60656) about 7 years ago

I used to have a basement when I lived back East, and water intrusion can be a pain, Goran. Poor waterproofing of the foundation in conjunction with poor grading can be trouble!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Steve - This is a great list and one everyone should look at when doing an inspection. Those are some set of stairs going up into that attic. Can't even put in a 16 penny nail.. sheesh... Great job on this post... Have a great and safe weekend.

Posted by Robert and Lisa Hammerstein -201-315-8618, Bergen County NJ Real Estate (Keller Williams Valley Realty) about 7 years ago

inspections are absolutely a must for buyers! We've even seen some major problems in new construction including water damage that had already begun resulting from incorrect flashing on large concrete siding panels. We walked from that deal because long term structural and mold damage would be coming within 5 years and the builder wouldn't fix the issue the correct way for the long term. All he wanted to do was to caulk over the problem. Not good!

Posted by Reba Haas, Team Reba, CDPE (Team Reba of RE/MAX Metro Eastside www.TeamReba.com) about 7 years ago

Great list!  8. Poor Overall Maintenance is a great catch all! 

 

Sometimes it is a matter of code changes.  I like to refer to those as "upgrades" and respond as such.  If they wanted a 2011 home then they either need to pay for that upgrade or deal with it being a 1982 home, ground faults or not  - LOL!

Posted by Cathy Criado, Making Real Estate Profitable (Criado Realty ) about 7 years ago

Adding a video to your blog is a nice touch. This is also very helpful for homeowners and buyers to be aware of the common things that can come up in home inspections.

Posted by Dawn Crawley, Find Pinehurst Homes (Dawn Crawley Realty) about 7 years ago

I like the video... the suspense on the ladder would have killed me except I knew you lived to write the post...

Posted by Maureen McCabe, Columbus Ohio Real Estate (HER Realtors) about 7 years ago

Very informative post and great idea to post a video.

Posted by Robyn Licursi about 7 years ago

Love this list. I'll be passing it on to home buyers. Thanks! Congrats on the feature as well. 

 

 

Posted by Erica Ramus, MRE, Schuylkill County PA Real Estate (Erica Ramus - Ramus Realty Group - Pottsville, PA ) about 7 years ago

Lisa & Robert: Installation directions- Who needs em?!

Reba: Aaah, caulking... That and duct tape are a fix for anything!

Cathy: I agree. Seasoned Realtors know enough to properly prepare their clients for things like this that may come up during an inspection. You can't expect everything to be in perfect shape when you're buying an older home. However, we have found safer ways of doing things over time (such as installation of GFCI outlets near water).

Dawn: Thanks!

Maureen: I tested it before making the video!

Robyn: Glad you liked it!

Erica: Exciting! I'm honored.

 

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Boy you sure did capture on the top 10! The only one I can see not included and is a big deal in our area is the sewer lateral. At some point this year it will be the sellers responsibility to complete prior to the close of escrow.

Posted by Elisa Uribe Realtor #01427070, California Homes for Sale in the East Bay (Golden Gate Sotheby's International) about 7 years ago

Steve:

Elisa mentioned the sewer lateral testing which East Bay Municipal Utility District (EBMUD) is requiring Cities and Counties around the San Francisco Bay to do to mitigate run off to the bay.  The sewer lateral testing has been required by the City of Alameda for at least 10 years.  It is usually not included in property inspections because it is a specific test of water pressure which is done in the presence of City public works department inspector.

 

Your video is so interesting.  Property inspectors here take lots of pictures, but a video with audio would be a plus for both buyers and sellers.  Thanks for providing this information.

Posted by Evelyn Kennedy, Alameda, Real Estate, Alameda, CA (Alain Pinel Realtors) about 7 years ago

Elisa: It's a big one here, too. I always recommend a video scan of the sewer lateral at homes built prior to 1975 or if there is mature vegetation in the path of the sewer line. It was tough to limit everything to a "Top 10".

Evelyn: Not sure what test you are referring to with a test of water pressure. Sounds like something other than a video scan of a sewer lateral. I don't provide video as part of my inspection report. That's just something I've started doing to help improve my SEO. It's pretty powerful!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago
I try to get home inspections on listings before they even go on the market!
Posted by Cheryl Ritchie, Southern Maryland 301-980-7566 (RE/MAX Leading Edge www.GoldenResults.com) about 7 years ago

Do you ever comment of lack of adequate insulation?

Posted by Charles Hendricks (The Gaines Group, PLC Architecture and Design) about 7 years ago

Steve, good information for buyers to keep in mind. Good job on the video.

Posted by Michael Setunsky, Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA about 7 years ago

Cheryl: I agree. That only makes sense. It sure will take a lot of hassle out of the negotiations and make a smoother transaction!

Charles: Yes, I do. A lot of the older homes here in California have none at all!

Michael: Thank you.

 

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

"Amateur wiring, shock hazards, inadequate electrical service to older homes, fire hazards due to faulty wiring connections, lack of GFCI outlets where needed, and other electrical defects are all too common."

I see this on almost every report we get from home inspectors.  And, these types of issues are deal breakers!

Posted by Joe Lane Richland, WA Realtor, 509.438.9344 www.LaneRealEstateTeam.com (Kennewick Richland (and West) Pasco WA Homes For Sale) about 7 years ago

1. Improvements done without permits and inspections.

2. Illegal rental units in garages and basements

3. Additions with near-flat shed roofs in our heavy snow area

4. Mold "remediated" by putting up another sheet of paneling or drywall over the moldy one

5. Removal of load-bearing walls without proper structural engineering

6. Wiring using extension cords

7. Removal of service entry box metal doors so the finished wall trim door can close properly

 

Posted by Jim Gilbert, The Gold Homes Team (Keller Williams Fairfax Gateway) about 7 years ago

Great tips, thanks for sharing.

Posted by Kimo Jarrett, Pro Lifestyle Solutions (WikiWiki Realty) about 7 years ago

Good post. I like the part about most people take better care of their cars than they do their homes.

Posted by Gary Frimann, REALTOR and Broker (Eagle Ridge Realty / Signature Homes & Estates) about 7 years ago

Hey, I used to live in that house! At least the rent was cheap...

Posted by Tim Bradley, Commercial Real Estate Expert in Jackson Hole, WY (Contour Investment Properties) about 7 years ago
Awesome list! I've seen just about all of these and it's good to be aware. Thanks for your contributing!
Posted by Sylvie Stuart, Home Buying, Home Selling and Investment - Flagsta (Realty One Group Mountain Desert 928-600-2765) about 7 years ago

Steve:

The sewer lateral test, not inspection, is a test of the water pressure at the lateral.  If the pressure is not great enough, it means that there are cracks or breaks in the line from the City pipes to the homeowners pipes.  If there is not adequate water pressure the pipes fail and must be replaced.  I hope I am explaining it adequately.

Posted by Evelyn Kennedy, Alameda, Real Estate, Alameda, CA (Alain Pinel Realtors) about 7 years ago
Very important informatin, Pools are always a problem for me in Arizona, and roofs are next.
Posted by Jack O'Neal (Conway Real Estate) about 7 years ago

Great video. Who hasn't seen some or all of the problematic items you pointed out? My guess would be that the homeowner either did the modification himself or hired cheap labor to do it.

 

Posted by Sylvia Jonathan, Broker Associate, SFR (Coldwell Banker Platinum Properties) about 7 years ago

Nice list.  Although it is hard to just pick 10, from my experience, you pretty much chose the top 10.  It is amazing what we can find in these homes, and even more amazing that the owners seem to hardly ever know about some of the obvious ones.

Posted by Jirius Isaac, Real Estate & loans in Kenmore, WA (Isaac Real Estate &TriStar Mortgage) about 7 years ago

Great list on home inspection defects.  I'm still surprised on how few preinspections are done before taking on a listing.  We spend lots of money in marketing the home only to find out issues that could have been corrected.

Wishing you continued success.

Posted by Constantine Isslamow, "Training and Accountability" (Century 21 United Realty Inc. ) about 7 years ago

Since most of our homes are older - pre WWII - our inspectors always find something. Electrical is a big one as well as old plumbing.  Even in the homes that appear to be well maintained, the owners were not aware of the problems are just lived with them.  Great list.

Posted by Ann Wilkins, Oakland, Berkeley, Piedmont CA (Golden Gate Sotheby's International Realty) about 7 years ago

I don't know about other communities, but back when Bonner County still had building inspectors they were often either "failed contractors" or just guys who had at some time worked on a construction crew. They weren't paid much, and they didn't know much. If they were required to know as much as you professional home inspectors, then more new homes would be built to code.

Posted by Marte Cliff, your real estate writer (Marte Cliff Copywriting) about 7 years ago
Graet post. I think I have seen all of these at one time or another.
Posted by Ric Mills, Integrity, Honesty, and Vast Real Estate Knowledge (Keller Williams Southern Az) about 7 years ago

Thanks for the list as I plan to print to give the list to my clients before they get their home inspected..

Posted by Robert Bob Gilbert, Your Katy TX ( West of Houston) Real Estate Expert (Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Anderson Properties) about 7 years ago

Steve, this is a great list and all the added items in the comments are the very reason I always recommend my buyers have a home inspection and any other inspections deemed necessary by our northeast environment.    Great post!

Posted by Debby Singleton, Top Producer since 1993 (Springer Realty Group) about 7 years ago

Yep, almost every house I've had a home inspection on failed the self closing pedestrian door to the garage requirement.

Posted by Cynthia Larsen, Independent Broker Serving Sonoma County, CA (Safe Haven Realty) about 7 years ago

A home inspection is a must for buyers.  Even on new builds!  It is amazing what you find.

Posted by Brenda, Ron, Lee Cunningham & Tara Keator, Realtors, Homes for Sale - Phoenix Metro (West USA Realty) about 7 years ago

Joe: Yes, electrical issues can be serious, but many of them are easily corrected.

GOLD Team Manassas: That's also quite a list, and I concur! I was laughing as I read it!

Gary: It's true!

LOL, Tim!

Sylvie: Thanks for your response!

Evelyn: Is that a water main test you're speaking of?

Jack: Then you will like my Pool & Spa Safety blog!

Sylvia: That's usually the case!

Jirius: It was difficult narrowing it down to the top 10.

Constantine: I agree. It seems only about 2% of home inspections in my area (San Diego County) are listing inspections. I understand many more listing inspections are done in northern CA. A pre-listing inspection just makes sense!

Ann: I hope the inspectors in your area get paid a nice fee for inspecting those old homes! Pre- WWII? Wow!

Marte: Bonner County no longer has building inspectors? I think the main reason for a lot of their "oversights" is the huge daily workload that gets dumped on them- at least in my area. It's unrealistic.

Robert: That's great! Feel free to re-blog if you wish.

Debby: I used to live in the Northeast. You guys definitely get some weather!

Cynthia: That issue is very common: doggie door installed, weak or missing closing mechanism, hollow-core door installed, gaps around the door, door opens into a sleeping room...  the list goes on!

Brenda & Ron: Yes, even on new construction!

 

Thanks for all your comments. They're great!

 

 

 

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago
Steve, any buyer would be an absolute fool not to hire a professional inspectore before buying.
Posted by Ray Waisler, NMLS #6621 - Specializing in Jumbo FHA & VA (Finance of America) about 7 years ago

Ray: Amen!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago
Great information, Steve. I reblogged (is that really a word?) your post.
Posted by John Juarez, ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN (The Medford Real Estate Team) about 7 years ago

Good list and a great wealth of information especially for first time buyers.

Posted by What Not To Renovate - Milan B., We provide tips & trends on home renos & designs about 7 years ago

Perfect timing!  I am having my house "lifted" because it continues to settle leaving cracks above the door frames.  It was built 30 years ago, and the codes were just not as strict then as now (we do live and learn some things).  I may never sell my house during my lifetime, but I want it structurally sound.  Much thanks for your Inspection List.  It makes me feel better about forking over the $cash for home maintenance...Carolyn Huggins

Posted by Carolyn Huggins (Between Home Stages, LLC-Winston-Salem, NC) about 7 years ago
You do not find those issues in new homes as you indicate. You would find those issues in older homes to properly correct you. Those photos indicate to be from older homes I would say 30 + up.
Posted by Dave Brice about 7 years ago

Steve - Thank you for the post.  There is good advice for us and clients to know.  I bookmarked the post.

Posted by Robert Courtney, Century 21 All Islands, RA, CDPE, MCRE, CIAS about 7 years ago

John: Thanks! And re-thanks!

Carolyn: Uggh! So sorry to hear about your home. Are you the original owner?

Dave: It is true that the issues mentioned in my blog are most commonly found in older homes. However, it only takes one change of ownership and the new owner may have to deal with modifications made that were not up to standards. Plumbing leaks, drainage issues, and incomplete or incorrect installations are quite often discovered even with new construction. I'm reminded of the fireplace flue that terminated in the attic area of a new home I inspected a couple of years ago. Yikes!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

I'm glad it's information you can use, Robert!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Thank God for professional home inspectors, they protect all parties!

Posted by Tony Lewis, RE/MAX Valencia, Stevenson Ranch, Santa Clarita (RE/MAX of Valencia (Hall of Fame) 30 year Valencia Resident) about 7 years ago

Tony: Yes, a thorough inspection will help reduce liability for all parties involved in a transaction. It's always good to have all the cards out on the table!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

A common one we see here in south Florida, is the hot and cold water reversed. Once I had an Inspector tell me it because of the large population of Spanish speaking tradesmen. To them "C" is for Caliente, meaning Hot. Not sure if it was true, but it certainly made sense. Joy

Posted by Joy Carter & Jeff Booker Brother and Sister Team, Trust Your Family's Move To Our Expertise! (Keller Williams Parkland/Coral Springs Realty-GreatFloridaHomes Team) about 7 years ago

LOL, Joy! We see a lot of the same here on the West coast. You might be right!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Good post.  I like Inspector post.  These are the sort of things home buyers can use.

Posted by Gene Riemenschneider, Turning Houses into Homes (Home Point Real Estate) about 7 years ago

Hi Steve,

Wow, some stuff never ceases to amaze. Would the trusses up in the attic w/the ¾" holes have been ok had the holes been ¼" instead? Seems like they would have thought ahead of time, but, looking at the attic latter, maybe not.

Do you find "roots" to be a less common issue, than the ones you've listed?

Thanks for the comprehensive analysis.

Posted by Dimitri Matsis-REALTOR® (818) 599-6083 (Troop Real Estate Inc. Westlake Village CA) about 7 years ago

I have seen a couple of these is some of the houses I have been in. The items you pointed out in the video definitely add a little more information I can use when going through houses for investors to buy.

Posted by Gerard Gilbers, Your Marketing Master (Higher Authority Markeing) about 7 years ago

Gene: I'm glad you can put it to good use!

Dimitri: Building codes say the trusses should not be altered in "any way" without engineer approval. Roots could have very well been in the top 10 also- they can cause a lot of problems- structural damage, cracking and heaving of walks and driveways causing trip hazards, root growth into the sewer line, etc.

Gerard: I'm so glad the video helped!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

I spent 5 hours Saturday with a buyer and his inspectxor.  It is always an enlightening experience,  His pulldown stairs were not installed properly either.  

Posted by Karen Steed, Associate Broker Haralson Realty (Tallapoosa, Bremen, Waco, Buchanan, Temple, Carrollton) about 7 years ago

If your inspector spent 5 hours there, I'm sure he provided a thorough inspection. A 1 1/2 hour inspection on an average-size home is not going to amount much, unless it is squeaky clean!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Inspectors have it tough nowadays with all of the distressed properties on the market.  Roof issues are very common here in Colorado Springs.

Posted by Patricia Beck, Colorado Springs Realty (RE/MAX Properties, Inc., GRI, CDPE) about 7 years ago

Yes, we are seeing a lot of "beat-up" homes in this market, Patricia!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

WOW! You're pics are worth a thousand words. I'm totally creeped out by the mold pic.

Posted by Sharon Sein (Sein Organizing Solutions & Home Staging) about 7 years ago

Good "top 10" list. It can be useful to help prepare buyers for what they will most likely see on an inspection report, and help avoid the panic!

Posted by Jan Stevens (Coldwell Banker Pittsburgh) about 7 years ago

Sharon: I end up taking around 100 photos at every inspection. I've started organizing them so I can write future blogs about them!

Jan: Peaceful panic is good!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Steve,

I know you wrote this a long time ago but I just got to it with all the Daily Drops I've saved and I'm glad I did.  Great list!!!

Posted by DeeDee Riley, Realtor - El Dorado Hills & the Surrounding Areas (Lyon Real Estate - El Dorado Hills CA) about 7 years ago

Well I'm glad you saved it DeeDee! Feel free to pass it on!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) about 7 years ago

Great post.  I'm sure this is location specific, but I can tell you that in Florida the number 1 thing to come up in home inspections is wood rot.  Then, in no specific order, GFI outlets that don't trip or reverse polarity, some defect with water heater like not having the proper pressure relief valve or no drip pan, and fogged windows that have lost the seal.

Posted by Matt Robinson, www.professionalinvestorsguild.com (Professional Investors Guild) over 6 years ago

Hi Matt: I'm sure Florida with all its humidity has its own set of problems! Thanks for your comment!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

This is a good list. #8 is most telling on how much you are going to like your purchase in the future.

Posted by Wayne B. Pruner, Tigard Oregon Homes for Sale, Realtor, GRI (Oregon First) over 6 years ago

Thanks Wayne. Upkeep of a home is never expensive, it is priceless!

Posted by Steve Stenros, CREIA MCI, ICC, ACI Home Inspector,San Diego (Poway,La Jolla,Del Mar,Mira Mesa,Carlsbad,Escondido,Temecula) over 6 years ago

Advise &amp; Consult, Inc. can help with your construction defect lawsuit or insurance claim!  We offer our services to both plaintiff and defense and provide you with the information that you need to fight your case.  Advise & Consult is a well respected nationwide construction expert witness company that specializes in construction defects, insurance claim disputes, estimates, and building codes. For more information on <a href="http://www.expertwitnessinconstruction.com">Construction Defects</a> and our other services, visit us today or call 888.684.8305 to see how we can help you!

Posted by Jeff Childs over 5 years ago

Advise &amp; Consult, Inc. can help with your construction defect lawsuit or insurance claim!  We offer our services to both plaintiff and defense and provide you with the information that you need to fight your case.  Advise & Consult is a well respected nationwide construction expert witness company that specializes in construction defects, insurance claim disputes, estimates, and building codes. For more information on <a href="http://www.expertwitnessinconstruction.com">Construction Defects</a> and our other services, visit us today or call 888.684.8305 to see how we can help you!

Posted by Jeff Childs over 5 years ago

Participate